Frustration

August 12, 2009 at 3:51 pm 14 comments

A new hitch in my meal making adventures has surface.  Bubba, my food loving 2yr old has a number of other food intolerances or allergies besides the celiac.  I’ve been trying different foods one at a time after a version of an elimination diet where he ate only rice, chicken and a few other very bland things for a month.  I  kept a journal of the process and discovered that he can not tolerate milk, soy (including soy oils it appears), tree nuts, apples, strawberries, and any citrus (included in all soda’s and most juices).

Almost every dressing/marinade contains either soy or citrus. Our family standby protein snack (nuts) is out of the question.  Most cereals are out even some of the newly re-done CHEX.  I had been getting confident with the food allergies already in place and this just seems out of control!

The poor guy practically views food consumption as his love language, ha ha, and it seems much like a cruel joke.  He is the least picky of my kids and yet at two he knows to ask “It not make me sick?”  when any food is offered to him.  Although he understands that he feels better when avoiding certain things his brothers have it is exceptionally difficult to keep alternatives for all the things we were used to having.

I don’t know why this seems so different since I have already been through the shock of discovering myself and three of my kids are celiac.

My tendency has been to make good food that is naturally gluten free and not have to worry about making one, two or three alternative meals for non-wheat, non-soy, non-whatever individuals.  We all eat together for the most part.  Bubba and I have our own milk and on rare occasions Matt has a loaf of bread stashed in a special cupboard but everything else is the same. 

NOW what?

Thank you, I just had to vent. This is one reason why there have not been recipes posted here lately. Hoping to get my groove back soon!

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?. Tags: , , .

Word of the day-onomatopoeia-and my book pick of the day. Not so FAST!

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julia  |  August 12, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    I would be going insane with this diet restriction. Oh how I feel for you.

    Reply
  • 2. Robynn's Ravings  |  August 13, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Oh thank you for dropping by!! And I want so much to share a link with you. I have a blog friend who has had to go gluten free for her whole family and has come up with some of the best recipes. If you search, “It’s All Gouda” you’ll find her. She’s the best and I bet you guys would really enjoy each other and the support. Good for you for doing all you can. Such a challenge!!!

    Reply
    • 3. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 13, 2009 at 2:29 pm

      Thank you, I can’t wait to check her blog out!

      Reply
  • 4. Gina  |  August 13, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    I have a friend who is on a very restricted diet as well. He often eats just one meat or fish, one grain (rice or quinoa) and one vegetable (usually steamed broccoli) for dinner. He puts salt and olive oil on almost everything to make it flavorful. Most herbs and spices are okay for him too, so he mixes that in where he can. This is an easy meal to make and it’s cost-effective too. Snacks are a little harder. I’ll ask him what he does.

    This must be very stressful! Sorry you’re going through additional restrictions for the little guy. I just learned recently that some kids can grow out of food allergies. I hope things get better!

    Reply
  • 5. Paula  |  August 13, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I adore Robynn and she can make me laugh like no one else! Plus, I’m always so happy to meet another gluten-free blogger! We can find our way together!

    Reply
    • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 13, 2009 at 10:16 pm

      Thank you! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Heather  |  August 13, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Wow. There were days, in the beginning of our gluten-free diet, that I procrastinated making meals because I just didn’t know what to make. So sorry to hear about Bubba’s additional food allergies — that’s tough! I wish I had some good advice, or something I could say to help. But I know you’ll figure it all out. Just have to get past the initial frustrations, I guess, and put on your creative cooking cap. I’ll be anxious to read how you overcome this new challenge. Bubba will feel better, and maybe next year he will have outgrown some of the allergies.

    Reply
    • 8. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 13, 2009 at 10:16 pm

      Oh I am SO hoping he will grow out of some. Poor guy and so agreable most of the time.

      Reply
  • 9. Mountain Woman  |  August 14, 2009 at 4:34 am

    I’ve only had to deal with shellfish allergies and that’s really nothing. I can’t imagine trying to find safe foods and plan a menu that will appeal to a toddler. Let us know what you find out as to meals.

    Reply
  • 10. Cheryl  |  August 14, 2009 at 6:19 am

    I just wanted to offer some support. I know first hand how difficult those days and weeks and months can be. ((HUGS))

    Reply
  • 11. Henny  |  August 15, 2009 at 12:28 am

    i really feel for. we have the same issues here too.

    Reply
  • 12. Joni  |  August 15, 2009 at 10:38 am

    I simply love the resourcefulness of your blog for families dealing with gluten issues.

    I am going to link to you for all of my mom readers who are dealing with gluten allergy issues–I have quite a few.

    Thank you for your wonderful blog!

    Joni 🙂
    http://www.feedinglittlefoodies.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 13. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 16, 2009 at 9:43 am

    I just have to put my thinkin’ cap on. Yhanks everyone for your support and suggestions.

    Reply
  • 14. purplemoose  |  August 25, 2009 at 8:57 am

    A girl at our church found out (after being sick for a while and much testing) that she was allergic to copper, which is in most foods! She had quite a restricted diet and I have no idea how her mom managed it. (Some of it seemed hokey to me. . . she could eat bread made from white flour, but not whole grains? processed foods but not real foods?) She has outgrown it to some extent, or maybe she doesn’t have as strong a reaction any more, so she’s on a regular diet now. (She was losing weight, had rashes, it was just miserable for a while.)

    Good luck with yours!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

