Not so FAST!

August 14, 2009 at 12:08 pm 12 comments

Do you know how much you can learn from observation.  “Be still and know that I am God” implores the Lord!

In our instant gratification, fast food, fast paced, speed dating, online chatting, thrill seeking society the noise never stops.  But those who take the time to STOP and look around will find knowledge in the simplest of places.

Did you know you could learn to garden without “Gardening for Dummies” or that you can track an animal without high tech gear?

I met a huge bull moose face to face the other day.  Twenty feet apart we stared at each other, me on my horse, he in his element.   No fear, no aggression he just caulked his velveted rack and stared. Quickly we departed.  But how did I track and sneak up on one of the largest specimen of four legged creatures in our mountains when hunters search for weeks with their ATV’s and GPS, their cell’s and scopes and tree perches? 

It’s because I listened and learned.  I’ve tracked numerous deer and found signs of bears and many other critters. I use my nose, my sight and the sounds that carry on the wind when you are silent.

That’s why I love the woods, they remind me to hear with ears that really listen, see with eyes that search, feel with my whole being and trust my God given senses.

Sometimes in the day to day I begin to feel like one of the machines I load to wash dishes, or type at to communicate with friends or watch to learn something new.  When did we become so one dimensional?

Today will you sit down and listen?  What can you hear beyond the honking cars, the whir of the fan or the droning of the local news anchor?

Entry filed under: Faith First. Tags: , , , .

Frustration Curly Cucumber Coil

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elaina  |  August 14, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Wow. Such a great post. You know something that’s been really hard for me in the months since I’ve been back in Southern California is that it’s not so easy to find the quiet I so easily did in Coastal Carolina. There I could walk a beach for miles and hardly see a soul or hike a trail through national forest and hear nothing but the wind in the pines. For me…that’s how I learned to slow down and listen. And I have to admit, now that I’m back here and life is crazy and traffic is crazy and blah,blah,blah, it’s so much harder to hear Him. But, I know it’s possible so I just have retrain my ears a bit. Thanks for the reminder!

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 14, 2009 at 2:37 pm

      It IS hard and So Cal is one of the busiest places I’ve lived. Go go go, and crouded yet no one knows their neighbor. I found the easiest place to find “quiet” was at McDonald’s. Funny enough there is either no or very low music and most people are in and out of there so there isn’t much conversation going on. I could sit at a booth with my Bible and either read, pray or just watch. I learn a lot, listening and watching even in noise! 🙂 Does that make sense? Hard to find those alone times now with kids so I need to quiet my mind sit on the deck (where I can’t see the house work) and learn about them too! Quiet and peace can be found even in the noisiest of environments.

      Reply
  • 3. Sarah C.  |  August 14, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    God is good all the time!

    Reply
    • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 14, 2009 at 8:56 pm

      And all the time God is good! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Kathryn  |  August 15, 2009 at 10:07 am

    We’re on the same path, but you are farther along than i. Wonderful journey, isn’t it?

    I live in So Cal, 100 miles east of LA. You CAN find quiet here, if you’re looking for it. 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 16, 2009 at 9:49 am

      If I’m further along it’s only because I’ve made more mistakes :)! I’ve been missing your comments here Kathryn. 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Feeding Little Foodies  |  August 15, 2009 at 11:10 am

    Your blog has so inspired me that I added a gluten-free post about your blog!

    Thanks, again for all of this wonderful info.!

    Joni 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 16, 2009 at 9:49 am

      Many thanks! I’ll check your blog out too.

      Reply
  • 9. Julia  |  August 15, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    I love your message. I feel the same too. The things that you notice if you only take the time too look. Although I have not encountered a moose, I can say we are very alert around here. 😉

    Reply
    • 10. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 16, 2009 at 9:50 am

      Keep your eyes peeled!

      Reply
  • 11. JoAnn  |  August 16, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Wonderful post….thanks for the reminder! I too live in SoCal, so it’s hard to go against the trend here and slow down. But it’s worth it to “Be still…”.

    Reply
  • 12. Linda  |  August 17, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    That’s really cool about the moose. I didn’t have a chance to really get away from the city this summer and I miss it. There is wildlife to enjoy here, but right now it’s too hot. Being out in nature seems to make it easier to be still and know that He is God, but not having that opportunity is no excuse. I will take your encouragement to heart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

