Boo Hoo Hoo!

August 19, 2009 at 10:17 am 14 comments

My camera broke and it feels like I’ve lost a thumb!

I have really enjoyed my little Canon (a Power Shot SD1100 IS Digital ELPH).  It was a gift when my youngest was born and has been well used. I’ve filled an 8G card near 6 times in the 10 months I’ve had it.  You can see why I’m really bummed since it is my only camera.

It appears that the ELPH is prone to lens problems (as are many point and shoot cameras) and it is quite possibly still under warranty.  I tried to contact Canon through the website yesterday but had issues when I tried to submit the repair order form.  I tried three times and finally gave up.  They will be getting a phone call today and hopefully I can get it fixed.

That being said I may be in the market for an SLR.  I’ve gone through three cameras in the past 3-4 years and my husband mentioned that maybe it is time for an upgrade! 🙂  No more boo hoo, that’s a woo hoo!  The trouble is, like always money is king and so I am searching for one that’s a couple years old and hopefully still in good working condition.  If I can find a decent SLR for a good price and still get my little ELPH fixed maybe it will not get used to death and I can begin a new adventure in the world of photography!

Here’s where you come in.  If you have an SLR what is your favorite and why.  I take mostly picture of my kids and animals and am by no means a professional nor do I have a money tree 🙂  but I do have some $$ saved up for this purpose!

Entry filed under: I'm no photo-genius.

Searching for Used Curriculum? Back online

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin Jackson  |  August 19, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I have a Nikon D50 which I love but is outdated. If you want an easy to use great camera that will produce professional shots if used correctly, look at the Nikon D40. They usually come with a 18-70 lens but I would strongly reccomend buying a 50mm 1.8 lens for another $100. Especially if you like doing portrait work. Trust me, you will love it. You can check out my website for examples!

    Reply
  • 2. Kathryn  |  August 19, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Duane could answer this better than i. We have a Nikon D70 which i love but he has considered replacing. I will say his shots look wonderful! And the D70, in general, is easy enough to use that i can manage it & the pics i take usually turn out good, too.

    When we were on vacation we took both the D70 & our point & shoot (don’t remember its details, sorry). Duane used the D70 almost the entire time, except one day when he went on a long hike & didn’t want the bulk/weight.

    He actually got this D70 in a trade with a friend. The friend had bought it, took classes, everything & then found he didn’t want to haul it around & preferred a point & shoot that he didn’t have to worry about. He liked Duane’s P&S & so they traded. We did buy a P&S to replace it, but truth is we don’t use it all that much, & I used the D70 exclusively.

    Happy to pass your email on to him if you want to have a “conversation.” 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Julia  |  August 19, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    I have the Nikon D-50 and cant find anything outdated about it yet!! It’s four years old, works FABULOUSLY!!, and takes brilliant pictures. If you could get a used digital slr like a Nikon you would be in great shape. They are pricey but Costco has new ones with lower relative cost these days. I have hundreds of pictures on my blog that have all been taken with the Nikon. I use Picasa to host them and they still come out very well. If you look at the leaf pic today I think it’s a good example of what the Nikon is capable of. And that is just scratching the surface.

    Gooooooood luck with this one.

    Reply
  • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 19, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    No one likes Canon? I’m a bit disappointed only because the “Rebel” sounds so cool! 🙂 Heehee! I have a friend who does commercial photography and she really likes Canon but I’m hearing more and more about Nicon these days. Hmmm, so many decisions so little time! Well, not really I’m probably going to have to save until my birthday (Nov) and see about one then. Maybe someone will upgrade and sell one used!

    Reply
  • 5. Julia  |  August 19, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    If you check out Picasa on line you can down load it on your computer, work on editing photos and then upload them to a Google Picasa web album to host your blog pics. For a simple editor it works great. It has a sharpening tool and you can adjust the tones of the picture and make things that are too bright right. You can try it and always remove the program if you don’t like it too.

    Reply
    • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 20, 2009 at 9:16 am

      How much are you able to upload with the free version? At photobucke the max upload is pretty small, I was worried that I could blow through it in a week.

      Reply
  • 7. Sarah C.  |  August 20, 2009 at 10:49 am

    I also have the Nikon D-50 . I love it! Im just a small town photographer/ freelance. This camera has not let me down yet. I will say as long as I take the time to take a good photo I get one. If I have it on auto and “just take a photo” 50% of the time thats what I get, just a photo. Nothing special.
    I will say my last on line photography class I took was 3 1/2 years ago (I think) and there was 12 of us. 10 of them had the cannon Rebel. I love Nikon and know many people that make a living with one. I also see the every day common person with one now these days, so I also think they are known for taking a good photo without having to “know” that much about the camera. I know a photographer that use a cannon and if you want her web info let me know. She does use allot of post processing but she is truly amazing!

    Reply
    • 8. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 20, 2009 at 9:47 pm

      I love all these ideas! 🙂 Sarah I would love to check out another photographer site, nicon, canon or otherwise 🙂

      Reply
      • 9. Sarah C.  |  August 24, 2009 at 8:03 am

        here is my fav local photographer who use’s Cannon
        http://www.andreashirey.com/blog
        also thinking maybe you should by my used camera maybe i want an upgrade?????

      • 10. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 26, 2009 at 11:26 am

        Hey now that’s a plan! 🙂 Lets talk!

  • 11. Gina  |  August 22, 2009 at 1:05 am

    I work at a camera store. We rent equipment, and we employees can borrow any SLR we want, so I’ve tried a bunch of them.

    If you need to replace your Elph, definitely buy another Canon! I sold a few little Nikons to friends and regretted the recommendation. They broke or had other issues.

    If you want an SLR, both Canon and Nikon are good. The Nikons typically start at a lower price, but how it feels in your hand is very important. You have to know what you’re doing more with an SLR. The lens is just as important as the camera. I agree with Erin that you should get the 50mm 1.8 lens (either Canon or Nikon, depending on the body you decide on). It’s worth it!

    Reply
    • 12. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 26, 2009 at 11:28 am

      Gina, thanks for the tips! So far I’m really pleased with Canon. They even fixed my camera for free and I just got an email that it is already on it’s way back home! Woo hoo!

      Reply
  • 13. Honey Mommy  |  August 27, 2009 at 8:35 am

    I love Canon. We have had an ELPH, and never had any problems with it. When it came time for me to get an SLR last year I did a whole bunch of research (I am a librarian). We decided to go with the Canon Xsi, and I have not regretted it. The price is reasonable, and it takes amazing pictures!

    Reply
  • 14. thelumberjackswife  |  August 28, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    I am without a camera, too, but mine was stolen this week! I have had 3 canon power shots this year-they give me some trouble. I am not sure I will buy one again. Glad I found your blog!
    Taylor

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

