R.I.P. Frederick

August 30, 2009 at 10:05 pm 11 comments

FrederickI’m sorry Leo but I’m not buying it!  Today I did the unpardonable.  I threw a book away.  The illustrations are cute, the theme is a good idea but I couldn’t stand this book!

It’s a cute little book about a family of mice who store up food for the winter.  The family works hard, all except Frederick.  Instead he sits around and soaks up sounds, sights, colors, words.

As expected the mice run low on food before the winter is over so they call on Frederick to bring out his supplies.  He tells great stories and paints wonderful pictures in their minds that make them feel like they are back in the middle of summer.

Great right? Cute story about the value of art right?  Well my problem is this: Those poor mice WONT MAKE IT through the winter on a memory of the sun or a poem about the four seasons no matter how beautiful or convincing!

My boys said this book is about a family of mice who saves food for the winter and the one mouse who didn’t. 

R.I.P. Frederick

Entry filed under: Book Reviews. Tags: , , , .

Back online Gluten Free Me…

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathryn  |  August 31, 2009 at 12:05 am

    I remember our family had that book when i was a kid, but i didn’t remember the storyline.

    I sometimes collect the books i remember from when i was a kid. I’ll make sure i don’t get this one! Harold & the Purple Crayon, The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats, (Edith) The Lonely Doll, the Madeline books, & of course Dr. Seuss were some of my favorites.

    I think Frederick was my sister’s book, actually.

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 31, 2009 at 9:21 am

      I’m kind of a book addict! 🙂 I will forgive almost anything in the name of “literature” if it means I can have a huge library but I’ve recently decided to read every book I have and keep only the one’s really worth reading. I like your book list.

      Reply
  • 3. gluten free easily (gfe)  |  August 31, 2009 at 4:56 am

    LOL … I had that book in my classroom when I was a teacher. You could have passed it on to someone else, you know? 😉 So many books are unbelievable … fantasty factor. Just like tv and movies. I appreciate you ensuring your kids don’t get a false sense of reality though. Glad to see you are back online. 🙂

    Shirley

    Reply
  • 4. Sharyl Williams  |  August 31, 2009 at 7:41 am

    I know from experience that it is feasible to gather both food and stories!

    Reply
    • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  August 31, 2009 at 9:18 am

      True Sharyl! If not that, sell the stories for food! 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. Cheryl  |  August 31, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    I’ve never heard of that book, God rest his soul 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Carrie  |  August 31, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    That would bother me too! That poor mouse family! Sounds like something I would do (throwing the book away because of that)….

    Reply
  • 8. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 1, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Shirley, that’s so funny! I knew someone was bound to like it. Poor Frederick just rubbed me wrong. Not to mention one of our biggest challenges is getting my extremely talented and creative Thing 2 to see the value of helping out while not squashing his creative endeavors 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Julia  |  September 1, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    I love this book but can see the slacker mouse needing a swift kick in the hiney for his lackadaisical attitude. Fredric’s poem is cool and since we have books were animals talk, drive and do other weird things I think we need to give some leeway with literary embellishments. But I can see how this one could annoy you.

    Reply
    • 10. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 2, 2009 at 8:59 am

      Yeah, I see your point but I even spent a whole night dreaming up alternative (and still fanciful) endings. Crazy gal that I am 🙂 I had the mouse selling poems or paintings to the silly foxes they talked about or helping the family through a different tradjedy other than the obvious “I didn’t help out and now my family is going to die while they listen to me tell stories” bit! Lol I’m a bit rigid in my thinking sometimes, that’s what comes with being a first born I think.

      Reply
  • 11. purplemoose  |  September 12, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Oooh, we read a book like that and I was disgusted. At the time we lived in a nasty log cabin that had mice living in the kitchen. Ugh! I washed and re-washed and re-re-washed ALL my dishes, and we could not keep them things out. So, books talking about “oh the poor mice how are they going to survive the winter?” don’t set well with me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

