Tinkle Torture

September 1, 2009 at 2:12 pm 5 comments

Yeah that’s right, it says “tinkle” not “tickle”!

As many of you know I’m in the process of potty training the Bubba and let me tell you it is an adventure to put it mildly.  Training a toddler with two older brothers is a lot different than when I trained the first two who didn’t have peer pressure to guide them in potty time fun.

Today before nap I scurried Bubba up the stairs to get a diaper.  While I was putting Pee Wee into her crib singing a lullaby and tickling her baby soft ribs I heard a tinkle from the direction of the bathroom that sits between the “baby girl room” and “3 boys room”. 

Now before you cry mutiny and snicker at my “little Princess” getting to reside solo in the “royal suite” please know that the Thinglets did this to themselves.  As I was setting up the nursery I prepared it for Bubba and Pee Wee but the boys pitched such a fit that I had to squeeze the toddler bed into the already stuffed “2 boys bedroom” and it promptly became the “3 boys bedroom”.  Sigh!  Even if I  don’t turn her into “the Princess” her big brothers will.

At any rate the tinkling began and I jerked around, stole into the bathroom to find the Bubba desperately hanging onto his “peanut” (as he calls it- pardon my description of this torturous event) while an ark of tinkle reached up and over the potty sprinkling the toilet tank, then the floor, then the seat.

Oh NO!  He hasn’t got AIM!  Who would expect him to at the good ol’ age of “SOoo TEW”.  I watched in horror not wanting to get myself into the baptising and trying to figure out how to help.

He leaned forward and tried to stop the stream only instead of relaxing he pulled harder and this time the tinkle went nearly straight up and dribbled ceremoniously on his pudgy belly and trailed down his legs.

“Stop, stop!” I finally manage, though I don’t know how I expected him to accomplish that.

He tried, and I stretched my go go gadget arms aiming for his pits, snatched him up and dangled him triumphantly over the porcelain throne just in time for the last little dribble.

“I done!”  he announced with dignation.

Just another day in Paradise!

Entry filed under: My Goofy Life and Motherhood Uncensored. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Gluten Free Me… Back to the Garden

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sharyl Williams  |  September 1, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Hey – good for him for attempting the process! I found it so much easier to train my son than it was my girls. Part of it was in my desire to be the “perfect mom” I started them way to young.

    Sounds like you have a fun time with the fab 4!

    Reply
  • 2. Julia  |  September 1, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Oh my oh my oh my… Potty training is a serious job. My bathroom smelled like a urinal for quite a while after my son was potty trained since he had the WORST concentration in aiming and at night it was a free for all in there. I used the cat spray to remove the smells… Oh misery.

    Reply
  • 3. purplemoose  |  September 13, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Oh what fun!! 😦 Our little girl (aged 2) is showing an interest in the potty but we’re having a hard time figuring it out. She’ll sit, but doesn’t know what to do. I sat her there one day (in front of the tv) for almost 2 hours and nothing. I figure we’ll give it a rest and try again in a bit. Good luck with your training!

    Reply
    • 4. sarah  |  September 24, 2009 at 7:53 pm

      I am currently potty training my 2 yr old daughter. She is doing well. At first she would just sit there and not do anything too. I took her once every 30 min and made her sit for 5 min. I didn’t want to make her sit to long for fear she would not want to sit there if it wasn’t fun anymore.Once she did finally pee in her potty we praised her extravagantly and gave her 2 Skittles. She started going regularly mostly because she wanted the skittles. Now less than 2 months later she asks to go and practically drags me to the bathroom. She wears diapers at nap and night times and training pants during the day. We have had 2(pee) accidents in the past 5 days (she always does #2 in her diaper at naptime so we still need to work on that part).
      She isn’t really interested in the skittles most of the time anymore but sometimes she still asks for them.

      So basically I would recommend trying to get her to go frequently, offering praise and a small reward, and not letting her see if(when, cause face it, it’ll happen) you get frustrated. If somehow she gets the floor or something else wet just clean it up and accept that it’s part of the process. Running the sink just a trickle may make her want to go as well.

      Sorry,….that was longer than I expected 🙂

      Reply
      • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 25, 2009 at 9:10 am

        Sarah, that was wonderful! 🙂 Great tips.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

