Back to the Garden

September 2, 2009 at 9:00 am 11 comments

We haven’t been in the garden lately.  I’ve been blessed with rain and extra hands but I’ve missed visiting on a daily, sometimes twice daily basis.

Here is what has been going on while I was away.

garden bean flour in the corn

I discovered that not all of my beans died and they have even begun to flower.

garden clem bennet heirloom sweet corn

I have two different varieties of corn that are doing well.  The one above is an heirloom sweet corn called Clem Bennet.  Below is a Blue Pop Popcorn Variety.

garden blue pop corn

I even spotted a couple ears beginning to bulge and  show silks!

garden corn silks

I love how the cucumber flowers have mini cucumbers sneaking up behind them on the stem.

garden cucumber flour

But even better than that is a cucumber ready for one of my Thinglets to pick for tonight’s salad!

garden cucumber

Eggplant flowers are amazingly pretty and I have two varieties to pick from.  I can’t wait to make Barbequey Ratatouille with my garden fresh eggplant.

garden eggplant flour

garden eggplant flour 2

This jalapeno was so well disguised beneith the dark similiarly shaped leaves I didn’t even spot it until it was near seven inches long!

garden jalapeno

 Below my re purposed crib rails protect the lettuce from the hot sun and provide a trellis for the cucumbers to climb.

garden lettuce patch

Entry filed under: Farm and Garden, Hey What's Goin on Here?. Tags: , , , .

Tinkle Torture Where has the mind gone?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ali @ The Whole Life Nutrition Kitchen  |  September 2, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Wow Jessie – looks like you have an amazing garden, how fun!! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 3, 2009 at 11:53 am

      Lots of fun, thanks!

      Reply
  • 3. Sharyl Williams  |  September 2, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    Love Love Love the crib rails! I had a garden a long time ago – you make me want to do it again,

    Reply
    • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 3, 2009 at 11:52 am

      You should! Container gardening is pretty low maintenance especially if you can rig a reservoir under large pots! 5 gallon buckets inside eachother work but aren’t pretty unless you paint them. Doesn’t matter once the plant takes over especially with vining squashes and such. Bush beans (green beans), tomatoes, strawberries all do well that way. Go for it!

      Reply
  • 5. Cheryl  |  September 3, 2009 at 11:12 am

    I’m trying hard not to envious. I did pretty well keeping up with my garden this year…but the last three weeks I allowed it to turn into a weed bed again. I love the crib walls! Brilliant.

    Reply
    • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 3, 2009 at 11:51 am

      No one said I don’t have weeds 🙂 that’s why I only do close ups! hee hee! To top it all off my peas died after only one small harvest, my pumpkin and zuchinni sprouted late so they are only just flowering and the plants are stunted. I probably won’t get a harvest from them. Those are not to be envied! 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Honey Mommy  |  September 5, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    I love growing a garden! Just this morning I picked 5 large bowls FULL of tomatoes. Now if only I weren’t going to spend my labor day making salsa or spaghetti sauce!

    Reply
    • 8. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 5, 2009 at 6:06 pm

      There’s always sun dried tomatoes!:)

      Reply
  • 9. gluten free easily (gfe)  |  September 8, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Those eggplant flowers are beautiful and all the photos make me happy with their amazing life. You are such a great gardener!

    Shirley

    Reply
  • 10. purplemoose  |  September 13, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    My hubby has jalapenos too, but they are growing in the kitchen window. Just recently they’ve started producing red ones. These are not green ones that are turning, but they are red from the start!

    Reply
    • 11. glutenfree4goofs  |  September 14, 2009 at 8:35 am

      Thing 1 ate one of the jalapenos that turned red (not like yours though/already red) he was clawing at his mouth for hours.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

