More Tomato Harvest Ideas

September 29, 2009 at 11:46 am 1 comment

tomato soup 2

One Ton Tomato Soup

I mentioned in a previous recipe post that I had picked a five gallon buck full of tomatoes. Would you believe I am still at it?

We made tomato soup, salsa, sun dried tomatoes and of course tomato sauce.  The other day Matt even made a grilled tomato sandwich with cheese in the middle.

Here is my un-recipe for home grown tomato sauce to be used for spaghetti, pizza sauce, casserole’s… anything your little heart desires!

Mr Stripey’s Saucy Sauce: (most my tomatoes are Mr. Stripey)

Dice, cut, slice or wedge a whole bunch of tomatoes into a large stock pot.  If you want to make just enough for one meal use a few  tomatoes and a small  stock pot.tomatoes

I leave the skins in mostly because I’m lazy and I can’t stand the extra step of blanching.  The choice is up to you and your enthusiasm for standing in the kitchen for hours on end.

Set the burner to med/high until the tomatoes begin to boil and splash juices all over your white stove and the wall beside it. 

At this point yell, “Oh crap!” and turn down the burner to maintain a slow simmer.

The tomatoes will need to simmer for an hour at the very least.  My last batch was so enormous and juicy (I used the ripest tomatoes) that I had to simmer for several hours.  At first it seemed much too thin and I researched how to thicken it.  While there are many options including adding parmesan cheese, mixing corn starch into water and adding that, the consensus seemed to be that those are not necessary and the best, most concentrated flavors emerge when you “just keep simmering, just keep simmering.”  NOT YOU AGAIN DORI??  Don’t forget to stir on occasion and adjust the temperature if needed.

Once my tomatoes had boiled down quite a bit (probably 4hrs- boy was it getting HOT) I began to add the seasonings. 

  • Many many cloves of garlic.  Probably 1 clove per 4 tomatoes
  • basil
  • parsley
  • black and red peppers
  • onion powder (I’m sure if you took the time to cook some fresh onions in a little olive oil and add that it would be heavenly)
  • sea salt
  • 1 diced medium bell pepper
  • a good squirt of balsamic vinaigrett

Continue to simmer until you get plain tired of wiping tomato steam from your brow and allow the sauce to cool.  Carefully, ever so CAREFULLY pour into freezer bags without spilling it all down the front of yourself (this is really a two person job so help is advisable) then make some spaghetti and/or freeze to use later.

Entry filed under: Saucy or Soupy (2), Un-Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Look to the Rock Pizza Please with a Cherry on Top!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. trheft  |  September 29, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    I’m jealous. Here in Pennsylvania the blight hit us so hard that it wiped out a great deal of the tomato crop. Last year at this time I had enough to last me through February, but this year I’m already down to my last handful. Enjoy! There’s always next year for me….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

