Window on the World

October 6, 2009 at 10:54 am 8 comments

Window on the World: When We Pray God Works [WINDOW ON THE WORLD]
 
See larger image
 
 
 
 

Window on the World: When We Pray God Works

The boys and I absolutely love this missions minded textbook.  It was recommended by a blogger friend and is a must have! Thanks Karen!

Each two page spread gives you a thorough look into a different people group of the world, mostly through the eyes of a child in that nation.  It details struggles and successes in reaching that group for Christ and has a section on how you can pray.  My boys practically fight over the prayer requests each day.  They love to hear the stories about boys and girls in other countries and even my two year old is learning.

When Matt came home from work the other day, a good 5hrs after we read about how God healed Niki in Albania and learned to say hello in Albanian, Bubba hollered “Tungjatjeta (toon-jat-yeta) Dad!”

Entry filed under: Book Reviews, Homeschool Scoop, Kid stuff. Tags: , , , , .

Portraits of Fun-Lookin Back on the Past Year Dairy free mushroom soup saves the day.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  October 6, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Hey there!
    We’re reading our way through this book in Sonlight Core 2. We love it too.

    I love your pictures Jessie – great to ‘meet’ you too.

    ~Michelle – fellow blogger & fellow homeschooler of 4
    (although I’m missing the 5 acres and animals. My husband’s dream is to move to the country – but unfortunately we’re stuck in suburbia for now.)
    (and my youngest has issues with gluten too)
    (and I have the exact same camera as you)
    (do we live parallel lives? except my kids are 11, 9, 8, & 6)
    (OK, I’m done now.)

    Reply
    • 2. glutenfree4goofs  |  October 8, 2009 at 11:21 am

      I love the long comments! Thanks for visiting, I hope you’ll come back and we will get to know eachother more. We are like twins-ies! Ha

      Reply
  • 3. Cheryl@SomewhatCrunchy  |  October 6, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    We used that last year (or was it the year before) in Fox’s Sonkight curriculum. We really liked it too!

    Reply
    • 4. glutenfree4goofs  |  October 8, 2009 at 11:23 am

      I forgot it is from the Sonlight curriculum. I am in a co-op so I don’t specifically use Sonlight but lots of what I use is in those cores. If I ever leave the co-op that’s exactly where I’ll go!

      Reply
  • 5. Debbie  |  October 7, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    We just started this book yesterday. It captured my youngest’s attention and brought up many questions that I couldn’t answer. I like this book, too and look forward to reading more of it. Unfortunately my book is new and has a strong smell for my nose.

    Reply
    • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  October 8, 2009 at 11:25 am

      Oh man, those unanswered question are a toughie but so fun to see what the kids come up with. My kids know there are a lot of things I don’t know but hopefully you will find a way to help them discover answers to some of those questions. 🙂

      I’m curious what your kiddo’s brought up!

      Reply
  • 7. Karen Joy  |  October 7, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    Oh, I’m SO GLAD that you and your kids like it. I’m working on my 2nd time through the book, this time w/ my 3rd grader, and it’s amazing how much I (re-)learn each time. And, I so love it that the idea of “when we pray, God works” is truly a belief of his, deep down. I’m always in wonder — and express it to my kids, too — how amazing it is that God hears the prayer of a child’s heart, and moves in action on the other side of the world as a result!! Awesome.

    Reply
    • 8. glutenfree4goofs  |  October 8, 2009 at 11:19 am

      I love that too! I’m studying Rahab right now and through that story it is so apparent that God works in mighty ways and that He truely “writes His letter on the tablet of our hearts” like it says in Isaiah no matter who or where we are. Humbling too that it has nothing to do with us but through prayer he allows us to participate!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

