Chex Snack – puppy chow

January 10, 2010 at 5:45 pm 7 comments

My thinglets love this snack. With Chex now gluten free, it ‘s great to whip up when the sweet tooth hits. I snuck a batch last night after the thinglets went to bed so I didn’t have to share! Evil MOM 😉

Here is the original recipe from the Chex site.

What is your favorite 15 minute, gluten free snack. Healthy is great or not so healthy works for me too!

Entry filed under: What else is there to eat?, Yipee Dessert. Tags: , , , , , , .

Best Gluten Free Cookies Review and Pictures! Health-ier banana split – breakfast treat

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  January 11, 2010 at 8:30 am

    I’ve done this, too (made the snack just for me)! Though mine was even faster and easier because all I did was pour out a small bowl of the Chocolate Chex cereal and added some cashews to it. Got me through the afternoon blahs.

    Reply
    • 2. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  January 11, 2010 at 12:35 pm

      Oh good plan! My youngest boy has a tree nut allergy so I can’t buy the Chocolate Chex or have cashews (which I love) in the house. Someday when he is a bit older and understands to stay out of that stuff I’ll have to do that!

      Reply
  • 3. Kathryn  |  January 12, 2010 at 12:56 am

    I can’t think of one now, but my hubby likes trail mix which i make simply with organic raisins, peanuts, mixed nuts, & M&Ms. (Yeah, i know, that last ingredient spoils it.)

    Your cookies in the last post look yummy. I think i’m going to try to be sugar-free . . . meaning not using sweetener, so cookies will be out, sigh.

    For some reason your title made me remember . . .

    When i was little my family had a black German Shepherd named Lucy. She was my playmate. One day my mother heard me counting out, “One for you, & one for me. . . ” She went out expecting the worst, that i was counting out Lucy’s dog treats, but i was sharing Cheerios. 🙂

    I was 3-1/2 when my sister was born & my parents “re-homed” Lucy.

    Reply
    • 4. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  January 12, 2010 at 1:30 am

      Oh that would break my heart to have my best friend re-homed. 😦 I love my doggies. My favorite dog was Shephard and Heeler. I got her for my 16th bday from my bff and had her until last year. She was with me before my hubby even.

      Reply
      • 5. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  January 12, 2010 at 1:32 am

        p.s. I love trail mix too. Craisins add a nice sweet flavor without having to go artificial. I too make mine from scratch because you can never find one that is not likely to be cross contiminated. I’ve gotten sick too many times from that.

      • 6. Kathryn  |  January 12, 2010 at 5:55 pm

        Yeah, i get that. These days getting attached to a dog is really hard on me & i try to avoid it. Wrote on that last week ’cause my ILs put their dog down.

        But i was pretty small & don’t really remember her all that well.

  • 7. A Short Vingnette Free Gift Idea | Blog Schmog  |  December 19, 2011 at 3:18 am

    […] a babe he loved to drink from the dog bowl and eat Chex puppy chow. When he started to talk he wouldn’t open his mouth, instead he would moo like the cows across […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

