Health-ier banana split – breakfast treat

January 22, 2010 at 10:59 am 9 comments

allergy free, biggest looser, food, gluten free, breakfast, banana split

Here is a yummy and somewhat healthy breakfast treat that a friend introduced me to from the Biggest Loser Club.

Biggest Loser or not, we all enjoyed it as you can see!

You need bananas, yogurt, chocolate syrup and nuts (if desired) and/or granola (for a NON-gluten free version). I left the nuts and granola out due to food allergies.

Entry filed under: Whats for breakfast gluten-free goof? (recipes). Tags: , , , , , , , .

Chex Snack – puppy chow One of the easiest meals I can come up with.

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mostawesomecousinever!!  |  January 22, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Freeze the yogurt! Dessert! Mmmm 🙂 that’s brilliant!

    Reply
  • 3. Shirley @ gfe  |  January 24, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Delish! I had my “nut cereal” this morning. Just different nuts (in my case, pecan halves and sliced almonds) and a sliced banana with some honey and milk (df is fine). No grains needed. I love easy breakfast like yours and mine. Mine didn’t have chocolate syrup though. Hmmm …

    Hey, Jessie, did you know that your blog was one of about 75 gluten-free blogs to be reviewed by the great gf publication, Easy Eats? I was thrilled to be on the list, too (because there were lots of wonderful gf blogs that weren’t). Then they awarded gold, silver, and bronze medals to 15 blogs. Very cool. You can subscribe via glutenfreemag.com. I think they’ll email you the latest issue right away. It’s not available online I don’t think, so let me know if you need me to email it to you.

    Hugs,
    Shirley

    Reply
    • 4. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  February 1, 2010 at 12:33 am

      Wowie! Thanks for letting me know, I didn’t have a clue. I’m somewhere off in Lala land. I’m still claiming mom brain, at least for a few more years. How long until I have to come up with a different excuse? Anyhow, thanks for telling me. Shirley.

      Sorry for the slow response, somehow your comments always get sent to spam no matter how many times I approve them. 😦

      Reply
  • 5. Brian  |  January 24, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Great picture of the kiddo!!! Sounds like a quick and easy breakfast idea.

    Reply
  • 6. Linda  |  February 9, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    Love the picture and the idea!

    Reply
  • 8. Sue  |  July 10, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    Sounds like my banana recipes: Banana and nut butter or sunflower seed butter and sometimes a drizzle of chocolate. That’s when it’s dessert for my son.

    Breaky for me: banana (or other fruit) in yogurt w/ a tsp of milled flax n a few walnuts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

