Cooking Strike and Probiotics Work

April 27, 2010 at 9:48 am 10 comments

I’ve been having strange dreams about ready made food and lamenting the ability that others have to just eat what they want whenever they want. With more get to gethers and being away from the home lately I’ve gotten mildly glutened on several occasions. Boy, what I’d do for a Stouffers lasagna or a cup of noodle that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg. As a result I’ve been on a cooking strike. Not really, but my creative energy, my small bit of determination (when it comes to meals) is “gone with the wind”. I wish I had started out with a love of all things kitchen and then discovered the celiac. Unfortunately the kitchen, on most days, is the last place I want to be.

What have you been eating lately? Rice cakes are myfaithful friend. So are nacho’s and Tinkyada pasta. How about you. What do you do when you want a TV dinner or frozen hash browns?

As a small aside I did re-discover that probiotics can help reduce the negative effects of getting glutened. Twice in the last couple weeks I’ve had to rush home and take a couple tablets loaded with healthy bacteria and then guzzle tons of water. It seems to speed up the digestion process and while it doesn’t stop the discomfort it definitely helps!

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?, How to become a gluten-free goof!. Tags: , , , , .

Want another cheesy idea? Gotta go gluten free?

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gina  |  April 27, 2010 at 10:35 am

    I still haven’t gotten tested yet, but I do have a batch of probiotics. Need to start taking them more regularly! My fear about finding out if I’m intolerant to gluten is that I might only change my eating, cooking a little. But I guess if I can feel the difference significantly, then I’ll be more likely to at least try harder.

    Reply
    • 2. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  May 7, 2010 at 9:04 pm

      I don’t hope you have it but I do hope you figure something out and get relief! 🙂 I’m headed out to the hot tub under the stars, so ttfn

      Reply
  • 3. Elaina  |  April 27, 2010 at 10:58 am

    I don’t know if I have Celiac. But I do know I have problems with gluten. I have a dramatic change when I eat it and when I don’t. But sometimes, I really do struggle to avoid it simply because I’m like a two year old throwing a tantrum. I don’t want to stop eating my favorite things.

    Whatever the gluten deal is, I also have lupus. So when I have a flare, I don’t want to cook from scratch. I’m too exhausted I want it now (whatever it is) and I want those comfort foods I’ve always loved (like that hot out of the oven bread at the store).

    I’ve also been whiny about how my coffee drinking routine has changed. I can’t drink my favorite flavored creamers. There is one that says it’s gluten free but I’m pretty sure it’s not. I’m rambling here. Anyway, I have found that Amy’s gluten free Mexican dishes are good when I have a craving.

    I have been eating white cheddar rice cakes & dried fruit (especially pineapple) is good when my sweet tooth is saying CAKE and my tummy is saying, “Do no even think about it.” Haha. Good to know I’m not the only one who laments being able to eat whatever they want, whenever they want. I never hear anyone who is eating gluten free admit to that so I felt like a schmuck. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  May 7, 2010 at 9:03 pm

      Oh don’t feel like a schmuck! I definitely know I’m healthier but I SO wan’t a TV dinner! 🙂 Haha! Not always and I don’t cheat EVER. That’s cause the Lord gave me the throw up symptom most often with gluten and for me there is almost nothing worse. BUT, yes I wish food was SIMPLE. I’m looking forward to my fresh garden and this summer I’m sure I’ll be sharing some better ideas. Just dont’ have the energy right now. Ya the cooking from scratch gets to be a drag especially when you don’t have a choice. 🙂 Thanks for your comments. If you get some brilliant ideas bring them on. I could use it!

      Reply
  • 5. Denise Therese  |  April 28, 2010 at 8:26 am

    When I want to eat something while watching television, I usually have some homemade yogurt sweetened with honey (last night I put blackberries in it–delish).

    I’ve found that yogurt also soothes my stomach when I’m reacting to a certain food. Being on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (see my blog), I have to avoid not only gluten, but sugars, starches, and all grains as well.

    Reply
  • 7. Deb  |  May 12, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    Hi! I just discovered your blog today while searching for easy summer g-f recipes. I am not GF, personally, but I have a young child with celiac disease, so keep a (mostly) gluten-free house. Dh and the other three kids sometimes have gluten bread or cookies, but only when I have a safe alternative for the GF kid.

    ANYWAY. I can’t say enough good stuff about probiotics in general! Even for those of us who don’t have to worry about gluten. Also, I am totally on a mental cooking strike this week and am trying to talk myself out of it, but it’s so easy to procrastinate and before you know it everyone is hungry. WHAT? Dinner AGAIN?

    I’m hoping to convince them all that a day of fasting once a week is a good thing. They’re not buying it.

    Reply
    • 8. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  May 18, 2010 at 12:14 pm

      Ah, I laughed reading your comment! Someone feels my pain 🙂 FASTING! Haha! I totally relate to the “WHAT? Dinner AGAIN?” thing and that is precisely where I get into trouble. There are so few 10 min options when eating gluten free. Hmmm, maybe I’ve discovered a new series of posts. Heehee! Only now I have to figure it out myself. Thanks for laughing with me.

      Reply
  • 9. Iris  |  May 15, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    I do love being in the kitchen, but I know how you feel. Somedays I just don’t want to have to worry about it. I want to be able to grab a pizza out of the freezer and have a quick meal. Do you have a Trader Joe’s near you? They have a lot of affordable gluten free options…

    Reply
    • 10. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  May 18, 2010 at 12:15 pm

      No Trader’s. SO sad! I do have a good pizza recipe that I will post soon. I make it up in a huge batch, pre bake individual crusts and then I do have a pop in the oven option. It just requires some planning. Better get to that! Thanks for the reminder.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

