Gluten free in Denver

July 5, 2010 at 5:45 am 6 comments

I recently had the opportunity to vacation in Denver Colorado. It was my first vacation where I didn’t have access to a kitchen where I could designate a gluten free section and manage my own food. Needless to say that made me nervous.

If you’ve been to Denver recently or live there, you probably know that I had nothing to fear! I ate like a gluten free queen!

The Mercury Cafe had an nearly an entire menu that could be made gluten free. Not to mention dancing! I shouldn’t have eaten Elk Bean and Cheese Enchilada’s before a night of east coast swing but it was worth it! We loved our waitress who was also great entertainment. What a fantastic dancer! She was cute. We tipped her well.

Denver’s gluten free treasures had only begun that night. The next day for lunch, my friend took me to Udi’s, a bakery with a dedicated gluten free facility. Woo HOO! I ate a huge sandwich on bread that was to die for. It was so exciting I took a picture.

The fries are made in a dedicated vat and everything tasted amazing! Going gluten free only cost an addition $1. Not bad especially after you’ve taken a bite. Udi’s is a must if you are in Denver.

For the grand finale we ate chinese at PF Changs who, since my glutening experience, have been forgiven. I talked with the manager and have seen all the precautions they take in assuring their gluten free guests are safe and can confidently say, they are one of the few places I trust implicitly. NOW.

The trick is, look for your food to be served on round plates with the PF Changs label. I got glutened by eating an appetizer on the plain square plate, which the server neglected to recognize. Purely human error.

Now I ask a lot of questions and am never afraid to say, “How do I know this is gluten free?” or “This is something I’ve never seen before, what’s the breading on the chicken?” That “breading”, by the way, is potato starch.

Have you been to any great gluten free digs lately?

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?, My GF Travels. Tags: , , , , .

Some more sneaky sources of gluten Quick Hello – cleaning, music, babies, mom crafts and more

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathryn  |  July 5, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    I love Z pizza, which is gluten-free & they are largely organic. I love the health food store that has a restaurant, tho they won’t guarantee GF because they do regular stuff there. We have a few other options, too. CA has its problems, but access to good food isn’t one of them. :)

    You’re expecting again? Congrats. :)

    Reply
    • 2. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  July 5, 2010 at 4:11 pm

      Thanks. :) Ah, I wish we had Z pizza. Is it spendy? I think there is one pizza place locally now but I’ve heard you have to take out a second mortgage.

      Reply
      • 3. Kathryn  |  July 5, 2010 at 10:02 pm

        Well, they only have the GF pizza in a 10 inch size. The one i like runs about $11. Is that pricey? Honestly, i don’t keep track. But considering the pizza my hubby likes (at a different place) runs $18 for a 14 inch, i don’t think it too bad.

        I suppose buying for a family, the 10 inch GFs would get pricey. But i have only me. (Hubby doesn’t go there with me.) One advantage, i guess, to having no children.

      • 4. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  July 7, 2010 at 8:49 pm

        Yeah, bummer. :( Considering my boys can each eat a half a pizza (and they are only little still) that would be a splurge but maybe if I make it down south you can take me. Girls only!

  • 5. Kathryn  |  July 7, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    You bet. :)

    That would be so fun.

    Reply
  • 6. Iris  |  July 27, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    I love PF Changs, and also appreciate that they serve their gf food on different plates so I know I got the right one. I didn’t know Udi’s was in Denver, but I have heard Colorado in general is a great place to be gluten-free. Glad you had such a great experience!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
July 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

