Friend to Friend Advice on Going Gluten Free

October 14, 2010 at 3:08 pm 5 comments

I wrote this as an email to a friend who did an elimination diet and discovered that gluten messes with her moods as well as other things. She wants to try going gluten free with her teen kids and see if they feel healthier too. She also had specific questions about Thanksgiving. Hope this helps Gina!

Think substitute or make from scratch instead of cutting things totally out. For example, need carbs? Corn, rice (careful of boxed rice), potatoes. This should help with thanksgiving. Instead of packaged gravy, make it using corn starch! Many, many gluten free foods are BETTER because they don’t rely on processed food. Watch your ham and instead of an injected one or some fancy stuffing that no one eats, get an organic one and make a rice and craisins stuffing.

What else? Need dessert? Ice cream is almost always a go and you can make a mean crockpot applesauce with brown sugar for it to go on. You can get mixes for the things you just can’t live without. Look at the new Betty Crocker gluten free line, (sold at WalMart) she has brownies and cakes and may even have a pie crust. If not I’ve made naked pumpkin pie before in a pinch.

As for now, with you kids, get some special treats to curb the munchies. Things you don’t usually buy but you can say I know it’s tough without… but here have a snickers! LOL

Another great option for a quick pick me up is a protein and/or fruit smoothie. When I’m really lamenting the lack of options my hubby whips up a dessert smoothie with peanut butter, chocolate, protein powder and milk. MMMM!

I keep stocked on protien stuff, yogurt, nuts, cheese and then definitely invest in some good gluten free noodles. You can get a case of Tinkyada noodles (by far the best texture out there IMO) on Amazon. Its spendy but definitely worth it if you really want to go for it. I just buy elbows and use them for almost everything. Sometimes I grab some spaghetti noodles.

Check out my no noodle lasagna “recipe”. We make it in advance and freeze it. Stick to meats and fresh veggies. We do a lot of salmon or chicken on the bbq, and when it comes to taco night we make our own seasoning and use warm corn tortillas. Cumin is the “secret” to the flavor.

Chex has gluten free cereals and if you can develop a taste for grits you can still have hot cereal too. Eggs are a go.

Speaking of eggs, you can boil up a dozen or so at a time and have another quick protein. Hard boiled egg, or egg salad sandwich (on rice cake or gf bread) etc.

Just plan ahead! That’s the best way to stay on top of it. Don’t let yourself get hungry without having an idea of what you will eat. It takes dilligence and probably at first you will be longer at the grocery store but just make sure you always have something that IS ok. That’s one of the hardest parts.

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?, How to become a gluten-free goof!. Tags: , , , .

Quick Hello – cleaning, music, babies, mom crafts and more Recipes for a gluten free Thanksgiving

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kay Guest  |  October 26, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Hello! Just wanted to mention that Shirley at glutenfreeeasily has a great recipe for dressing (or stuffing) at her blog…she uses tortilla chips! I will be making that at my house for Thanksgiving for sure…
    Kay

    Reply
    • 2. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  October 26, 2010 at 4:02 pm

      Oh YUM! Thanks for the reminder to pop over and see what Shirley is cooking. Sounds like I’ll be making that too.

      Reply
  • 3. Stephanie  |  December 11, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    Hey Jess,
    I’m wanting to go gluten free. My son (and possibly daughter, now) has sinus/nasal issues. I thought it was our dog. We got ride of him (and he came back 2 days ago 🙂 and it seemed to help, but not completely. I think something else is going on. I’d like (“like” isn’t really the correct word for my feelings on the matter) to go dairy free also. Any tips on that? Sounds like you do dairy all right. I know I’m allergic, but I eat it anyway.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
October 2010
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031