God Made Rainy Days…

May 11, 2009 at 9:55 am 5 comments

God made rainy days so gardeners could get the housework done!

It is raining today and I’m happy because one, I can get some laundry done and maybe some baking and two, the rain is watering my new lawn for free!  We have an extremely volatile well situation, but that’s a story for another day.  Today I wanted to show you what I’ve been up to…

This is Tiger, helping me plant potato “seeds”.  I had my Hubby build a box for the potatoes and since they grow up, I just set them on the ground, then…

covered them with dirt.  As the plants grow I will add straw or any dried hay that the horses reject and more wooden rails (lincon log style) until the season is done.  The idea is that the potatoes will be easy to find in something loose like straw and instead of having to dig for hours in the field I can just take down the rails and hopefully the potatoes will spill out!  My grandma warned me about the sneaky nature of potatoes and how they will tunnel and bury themselves in your yard or garden.  She said, “I was digging up potatoes for years!”  I hope this works because I’d like to keep them somewhat contained.  I am hoping to build two of these boxes.

If you have a smaller garden or even a patio you can still grow potatoes!   Check out this guide.

Entry filed under: Farm and Garden. Tags: , , , , .

“Dead” Sourdough starter? Sunflower Carrots

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura@HeavenlyHomemakers  |  May 12, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Thanks for the link to my site. I love what you said about rainy days being God’s gift to gardeners! SO true!

    Reply
  • 2. purplemoose  |  May 14, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    You can also use tires, add tires and more dirt as they grow up. We hope to do this in the future (read: next few years.) We’ve only got a few extra tires! But the box is prettier. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Not yo’ nacho! « Blog Schmog  |  June 4, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    […] Wednesday’s but between the rock incident, making green smoothies a fashion statement and playing in my garden I just couldn’t find the time.  Finally things are settling in and with the help of my […]

    Reply
  • 4. Honey Do « Blog Schmog  |  June 26, 2009 at 10:11 am

    […] all that to say that the “projects” and the pets and the tending and the fret is how I feel loved.  My husband on the other […]

    Reply
  • 5. Speaking of Honey Do’s « Blog Schmog  |  June 26, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    […] 26, 2009 It is time to add on to my potato bed and I realized that the lincoln log system wasn’t going to work because the material I had laying around is old cedar fence posts.  When […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031