Bath Time Noodle Dish

May 19, 2009 at 8:16 pm 10 comments

noodle dish1

Now isn’t that perty?

This week has not been as eventful as past weeks but I did have to give Pee Wee an emergency bath in the middle of dinner, during which I accidentally hosed myself down with the hand shower!  It’s hard to wield a shower head in one hand and grip a slippery wet and squirmy infant in the other, not to mention remembering that the stream of water actually needs to be aimed!  Thankfully this meal is easy enough to prepare even during bath time and turned out to be one worth shouting about.

Thing 1 got a quick sample during one of his many dinner progress inspections and immediately ran out, slammed the door and began yelling at his brothers, “Come quick, it’s a really, really good dinner!”

I went ahead and “re-purposed” that barbecued chicken one last time and since the sun has begun to peek through those spring storms more often I have been in the mood for something more reminiscent of a picnic.  A light noodle dish was just the ticket.

noodle dishNoodle Dish Recipe:

Boil water and cook pasta as recommended (I like tinkyada)

Saute in olive oil over med/low

  • sliced mini sweet peppers
  • garlic
  • onion (if desired)

Add noodles to wok with cooked (or BBQ) chicken and additional olive oil if needed.

Top with parmesan cheese (if desired) and serve warm!

If you are a goof like me you might forget to saute the garlic and veggies in advance so just push that mass of noodles to the side of your wok and make some room near the bottom so you can do it anyway.  Since my chicken was cooked at the beginning of the week it was really just a heat and serve meal.  Whew!  With more time on your hands you might try this with Noodles at Noon.

This has been another recipe for the “What’s for Dinner Wednesday Blog Carnival” Hosted by the Gluten Free Homemaker. Thanks for stopping and check out more great ideas here.

Entry filed under: Bath Time Noodle Dish, What's for dinner gluten-free goof? (recipes). Tags: , , , , , , .

Nothing Part 2 Legacy

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gina  |  May 20, 2009 at 8:32 am

    I did a plain noodles dinner this week: just butter and parmesan. Yours looks much healthier! The vegetables are very pretty, indeed.

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel  |  May 20, 2009 at 9:46 am

    I love it when a meal is so simple it’s pretty much a heat and serve. Great for those nights when my husband is hungry “RIGHT NOW!” haha

    Reply
  • 3. WendyGK  |  May 20, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Love “dinner progress inspections.” I can just picture it.

    Reply
  • 4. Linda  |  May 20, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Tinkyada is a lifesaver! Sounds delicious.

    Reply
  • 5. Diane-thewholegang  |  May 20, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    I love to read the adventures of you and thing 1 and thing 2. So funny to someone not living it. It does remind me that I am thankful for big kids. I wasn’t very good with babies. I also love the meals you make. I’m still eating taquitos from the batch I made last month. Very cool. I don’t have little ones around but I run a business full time and try to blog and play in the gluten free world. No time for lunch, but thanks to your recipe I can have a quick and tasty one. Keep cooking! Oh, and you might want to wear a bathing suit during bath time.

    Reply
    • 6. glutenfree4goofs  |  May 20, 2009 at 2:36 pm

      You all make me laugh! Thanks for the support and keep coming back, I love to look through life’s “hose down’s” and find the joy.

      Reply
  • 7. Jennifer  |  May 20, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    That was so fun to read! I can sooooo relate! OOOH Yes! I will have to try this one. Noodle dishes are big hits in my house.

    Thanks for this post. I enjoyed reading about your adventure.

    Reply
  • 8. purplemoose  |  May 21, 2009 at 9:50 am

    It sounds like something similar to what I make, except I don’t use the peppers.onions, or chicken. “Garlic pasta” I call it. It’s a recipe my hubby found when he decided he was willing to eat less meat (which was a major decision!) I’ll have to think about adding peppers though, I think that might go over nicely.

    Reply
  • 9. Brian  |  May 21, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Funny story! I can relate to the joys of bathing a squirmer. Your dinner looks great. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 10. gfe-gluten free easily  |  May 22, 2009 at 4:08 am

    Loved reading this post, Jessie! Inspections, mid-dinner baths (heck, I spray myself almost every time I use my kitchen sink sprayer), and the “come quick, it’s really, really good!” What better endorsement can you get than that?? 🙂

    Shirley

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031