Archive for April 9, 2009

An Easter Riddle

Actually this has nothing to do with Bunnies!  I have a real live dilemma and it just so happens to fall during egg hunting season, how convenient.  Here you have it!

Remember the riddle, How much would could a wood chuck chuck? Here is my version…hen

OWL’S EGGS:

Where on the farm would Owl hide eggs,

If  Owl could truly hide eggs?

Here on the farm Owls eggs would hide,

If  Owl could truly hide eggs.

I’ve been AWOL from the blogging sphere because if you haven’t noticed, my weather pixie has finally shed her scarf and hat.  Today we are on a real live egg hunt because the hen called Owl, has made herself a cozy little nest somewhere in the woods and has been hoarding all her pretty little green eggs! 

See you in a couple days when my pixie friend puts her stocking hat back on.  We are supposed to get back in the 40’s soon.

April 9, 2009 at 10:28 am 3 comments


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930