Best Gluten Free Cookies Review and Pictures!

December 15, 2009 at 7:29 pm 17 comments

Gluten free/ allergen free sugar cookies, oreo imposters and the pictures to prove it!

It’s cookie time and I finally have access to the pictures on my rogue computer. 🙂 

The Big Batch Gluten Free Sugar Cookies at Karen Joy’s blog Only Sometimes Clever are my all time favorite. 

They cook up just like regular cookies and tricked even my “cookie connoisseur” dad who does not eat allergen free.

The boys had a blast decorating loads and loads of sugar cookies.  Too bad I can’t mail them to everyone but surely they will all be eaten before the week is out.  I might have to make them again when the inlaws come.

Another recipe I came across recently that was to die for are these Gluten Free Homemade “Oreo’s”  by Kate Chan at Gluten Free Gobsmacked

My husband remarked while eating one of these, “The only thing wrong is they are better than the original!”  Haha!

The only thing I did differently is leave the cookies to fluff up instead of squashing them flat so they would be more authentic. I just couldn’t help it.  They were such an incredible texture, chewy and delicious.  But if you desire you can make the cookies thin and let them sit on the counter to dry slightly for a perfect oreo replica.

Please visit Linda’s  “What Can I Eat That’s Gluten Free” and don’t forget to check out the other great recipes this week!

Entry filed under: Hey What's Goin on Here?. Tags: , , , , , , , .

My Favorite Big Batch Gluten Free Christmas Cookies Chex Snack – puppy chow

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  December 15, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Those oreos look so tempting.

    The themes are always the first Wed. of each month. Last week I announced that the theme for Jan. would be cookies since we’ll be making them is month anyway. These cookies are great for people looking for Christmas cookie recipes now, though. Thanks for linking up.

    Reply
  • 2. Heather  |  December 15, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    Glad that you’re back to posting on your blog. I’ve got to make some cookies for a couple school parties. That large batch of sugar cookies just may be what I need. Hope you and the family are enjoying the holidays!

    Reply
  • 3. Jessy  |  December 15, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Those cookies look great! Especially the “oreos”, definitely a good choice on letting them puff up =)

    Reply
  • 4. Iris  |  December 16, 2009 at 5:00 am

    Thanks for the cookie links! Did you make the sugar cookies in the “big batch” amount called for, or did you make a smaller batch? How many did it make? I think I might try these to bring to my family’s Christmas.

    Reply
    • 5. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  December 16, 2009 at 12:08 pm

      Weeeellllll 🙂 We actually doubled the “big batch”! BAD idea – haha! But as Karen Joy points out, the dough can be saved for later baking. We had a Christmas outreach at our church where we made cookies and passed them out in the community. My husband got overzealous and made these. He says the recipe as written makes close to 100 cookies.

      The boys and I have been pulling dough out of the frig and baking up a batch almost every day since. If it sits a little while in the frig it may need a drizzle of water before rolling out. Also, I rolled the dough between plastic. I like the dough a little wetter than called for. My husband just made them by drop and press method.

      Reply
  • 6. Kate  |  December 16, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Jess –
    I’m happy the mock oreos have made you all happy too. They are a huge hit around our house too! 🙂 You’re a gem for the linkback and sharing. Thank you!
    =)
    Kate

    Reply
    • 7. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  December 18, 2009 at 11:57 am

      You are welcome. It is sad that it took me so long to post 🙂 I commented about them ages ago!

      Reply
  • 8. Iris  |  December 16, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Whoa. 100 cookies. I’ll definitely be making half the recipe! Thanks for letting me know!

    Reply
    • 9. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  December 16, 2009 at 5:57 pm

      Haha, yes it’s huge! If you HALF the original recipe it would make a minimum of 4 dozen small-ish cookies.

      Reply
  • 10. Shirley@gfe  |  December 16, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    Great-looking cookies … yours and Kate’s! It’s good to see you again!

    Shirley

    Reply
  • 11. Lauren  |  December 19, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Oh wow. These are gorgeous! I love all of these cookies – such fun =D.

    Reply
  • 12. chayacomfycook  |  December 20, 2009 at 1:40 am

    These are fantastic cookies. Come bake for us. Really great job.

    Reply
    • 13. Jess @ Blog Schmog  |  December 21, 2009 at 4:05 pm

      I’d love too! 🙂 You provide the coffee! 😉

      Reply
  • 14. Brian  |  December 20, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Great looking cookies!!! I am a sucker with any kind of dessert. Have a Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  • […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Gluten Free Bee, Allergized. Allergized said: Best Gluten Free Cookies Review and Pictures « Gluten Free 4 Goofs: Another recipe I came across recently that .. http://bit.ly/6diaqk […]

    Reply
  • […] Sabroso (squash & pasteles de calabacín) El 16 de diciembre – Bocadillo de Pan de Focaccia 1. Jessie (Galletas de Navidad) 2. Lynns Kit Adv (pastel de café de noche) 3. Escama de Yadi-maíz Se encostró Tostada francesa […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
December 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031