Time to Fly

April 13, 2009 at 10:58 am 6 comments

noflyzone1Time to order Fly Predators, that is!

We’ve been using these tiny little bugs to control our fly population for three years now.  I learned about them while wearking at a ranch as a horse wrangler.  They are the neatest little bugs and of course, they provide a solution that is pesticide free and in my opinion actually works better than anything out there.

Spalding Labs sends you a small package filled with little black, rice like eggs packed in wood shavings.  It’s the fly predator larve.  The bugs emerge in a couple of days and you simply sprinkle them onto the ground on or near manure, rotting hay or any other problem area.  They are not much bigger than the period at the end of this sentence but they work wonders.  The tiny bugs get straight to work eating the regular fly larve, stopping the flies before they even get a chance to hatch.

At my first introduction to the predators I was amazed but sure I would not be able to afford them.  Not so!  A monthly shipment of 10,000 predators (enough for my small farm) is only about $30, much less than a couple cans of spray and a trap that doesn’t work.  It’s cold enough here that I only need 4-5 shipments, other areas of the country may need to continue the shipments longer.

Click here to check it out for yourself.

Entry filed under: Farm and Garden, Hey What's Goin on Here?.

Funny The trouble with rocks

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen Joy  |  April 13, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    That’s so cool! I sent a link to my mother-in-law, who has horses.

    Reply
  • 2. yasmine  |  April 14, 2009 at 5:02 am

    i really hope these work,,,just ordered them…pricey? 120 $ for the summer…do they realllllllyyy Make a difference?

    Reply
    • 3. glutenfree4goofs  |  April 14, 2009 at 9:07 am

      Yep, they work great! If you start after flies have emerged it will take a little longer to get rid of them but I’m not getting anything for posting, I just like them! 🙂 I usually pay monthly so I don’t have to fork over that much at once but at least if you did you’ll have it over with and no worries until next spring.

      Reply
  • 4. Karen Joy  |  April 14, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    My MIL said that she tried this last summer, but it didn’t work! She said that maybe it’s because our hot months are so much longer, that here, she really needs to do it for 5-6 months instead of three. Our “fly season” is much longer, I guess! She uses diatomaceous earth, which she sprinkles on the wet/sloshy areas where flies breed, like around water containers. It’s another all-natural solution, but it’s only partially effective.

    Reply
    • 5. glutenfree4goofs  |  April 14, 2009 at 9:02 pm

      I didn’t notice a huge reduction in flies until my second season using the predators and then I made sure to get an early start. The second year was great. I had some stray flies in the house but not outside (go figure). Also this year I’m going to order more in the last month to take care of those late season little biting flies. Too bad it didn’t work for your MIL I wonder if she had neighbors that made it less effective and/or just didn’t start early enough maybe. I definately think you would have to do it longer than I do it’s cold here! Still snowing in fact.

      Reply
  • 6. purplemoose  |  April 16, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Wow, I’ll have to check this out. I wonder if they have anything that eats mosquitoes.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Us and Our Thinglets

MATT - Food Creativity Consultant, Joyful Partner in Crime JESSIE - Photographer, Amateur Food Critic, Blog Author CAPTAIN OBVIOUS - formerly Thing 1 Thing 1 SCARFUNKLE - formerly Thing 2 IMG_3466 LOUD KIDDINGTON - formerly THE BUBBA 3 PEE WEE MINI ME BORN March 8, 2011

Subscribe to GF4G in a Reader

RSS Visit Blog Schmog for moms. Discover a new perspective!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Food Fun

Sourdough Update

Many of you have been checking back for results on my sourdough creation. At the moment it is still a science experiment, but a happy, bubbly experiment. Never fear, recipes will be here! I did make a beautiful, moist and delicious loaf of sourdough using yeast and a myriad of other ingredients but I'm still trying to create something more user friendly. Wouldn't it be awesome to have a starter on the counter that you could add 4 things to and have a loaf of bread by dinner? Mmmm! Attempt #1 - rose well but resulted in a dense chewy blob Attempt #2 - rose ok but was thin and lifeless then fell and another dense (not so chewy) blob Attempt #3 - to the dogs! Attempt #4 - A sourdough pancake success see post under what's for breakfast gluten-free goof? Ongoing - I've tried several more times and am going to try a completely different approach on the bread starting this week. (Mar 18). My sourdough is still happy on my counter and it makes great pancakes but it's a lot of work just for pancakes. Keep checking! April Update: She is still kickin and I'm still workin on a yeast free, gluten free sourdough loaf! May Update: My sourdough "pet" has been dried and retired until next baking season. I've traded her in for a hotter model, the BBQ! :)
April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930